Powered by CES, IESA Industry Excellence Awards was started in 2017, an initiative to recognize the perseverance, innovation and achievements of organizations involved in the energy storage landscape in India. These awards celebrate the value these organizations have created for the end consumers in the country. In 2020, IESA Industry Excellence Awards expanded the market segments and award categories to include EV charging infrastructure, Microgrids, along Energy storage and Electric vehicles markets. With this, IESA aims to acknowledge all the companies & industry stalwarts, those who have made their mark in the industry during the past year through technology innovation, market leadership, competitive strategy etc.

The 5th IESA Industry Excellence Awards was held on 3rd May '22 at Pragati Maidan New Delhi to recognize the best of companies, leaders, and path-breaking projects in the field of energy storage, electric vehicles, and microgrids. Presented awards across 20+ categories spanning technology innovations, startups, and projects, to outstanding CXOs, researchers, policy pioneers, and drivers of progressive union and state policies. The awards gala witnessed prominent faces from the clean energy and green tech ecosystem bringing together ministers, public sector officials, and private industry executives to recognize their efforts in helping build a greener world order.

Based on the themes defined, IESA Industry Excellence Awards honored pathbreaking products, services, and solution providers at the event. The winners were felicitated in the presence of Shri. Ghanshyam Prasad, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Power, Govt. of India, Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala, Institute Professor, IIT Madras, Dr. Rahul Walawalkar, President, IESA, MD, CES (India), and Debi Prasad Dash, Executive Director, IESA. The following are the different awards categories presented at the IESA Industry Excellence Awards 2022:


  • Energy Storage Project of the Year Award- Ampere hour & BSES Rajdhani Power Limited
  • EV Infrastructure Project of the Year Award- Fortum Charge & Drive India & BSES Yamuna Power Limited
  • Technology Innovation of the year for Energy Storage (Industry)- Log 9 Materials
  • Technology innovation of the year (PSU)- Energy Storage- Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Ltd
  • Emerging Company of the Year- Energy Storage Supply Chain- Epsilon Advanced Materials
  • Startup Company of the Year- E-mobility Services- BluSmart
  • Startup company of the Year – EV- Log 9 Materials
  • Startup Company of the Year- Energy Storage- Ampere hour
  • EV Infrastructure Company of the Year- Tata Power
  • EV Components Company of the Year- Tata AutoComp
  • Company of the Year – EV Infrastructure OEM- Exicom Tele-Systems
  • Company of the Year in Safety Awareness- Energy Storage- Underwriters Laboratories (UL)
  • Energy Storage Company of the Year- Exicom Tele-Systems
  • EV Product of the year-Electric Two-Wheeler- 450X from Ather Energy
  • EV Product of the year- Electric Four-Wheeler- Nexon EV from Tata Motors
  • CXO Of the Year- Energy Storage- Vijayanand Samudrala , President – New Energy at Amara Raja Batteries
  • Emerging CXO Of The year- Energy Storage- Stefan Louis,CEO, Nexcharge
  • Lifetime Achievement Award- Energy Storage and EV- Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala. Indian Institute of Technology, Madras
  • Researcher of the Year (Industry) - Energy Storage- Dr. Venketeshwarlu Manne from Amara Raja Batteries
  • Researcher of the Year (PSU)- Energy Storage- Dr. Milind Kulkarni of the Centre for Materials for Electronics Technology
  • Policy Pioneer of the Year- Energy Storage- Ghanshyam Prasad, Joint Secretary, MoP
  • Best EV State Award- Karnataka and Tamil Nadu
  • Best State in EV Adoption- Delhi
  • Best State in E-bus Adoption- Maharashtra
  • Best State for Manufacturing: EV and Energy Storage- Tamil Nadu and Gujarat
  • IESA Policy Catalyst Award for EV and Energy Storage- Niti Aayog and DHI
  • IESA Earth Day Hero Award- Sainath Manikandan & Sai SahanaManikandan; Sawan Kanojia; Team Sustainosphere and There Is No Earth B

The winners were selected by a team of external juries based on competitive scoring and evaluation framework developed by the jury panel and senior advisors to IESA which comprise global Industry veterans and policymakers. For the Industry Excellence Awards, the criteria for selection of winners across categories was based on acknowledging the work of organizations, projects, and people who not only help in promoting green energy solutions and technology for a decarbonized future but also create safety and value for the end consumer.

Cron Job Starts